Last Updated: Aug 24, 2014
Internet Resources, Lesson Plans & Curriculum Materials
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Imagine Mars Project: Project leads k-12 students to work with scientists, engineers, artists and civic leaders.
- Astronomy Education Review
Focuses on astronomy education and outreach.
- Gamma-rays, Galaxies, and Black Holes
Public information related to black holes, gamma rays, galaxies, stars and the electromagnetic spectrum.
- Google Geo Education Home
Google's Geo Education site provides helpful information on using Google Sky and Trimble SketchUp in your K-12 classroom.
- NASA's Educator Site
- WorldWide Telescope
WorldWide Telescope (WWT) enables your computer to function as a virtual telescope, bringing together imagery from the best ground and space-based telescopes in the world. Experience narrated guided tours from astronomers and educators featuring interesting places in the sky.
- Zooniverse - Real Science Online
Be a citizen scientist...Planet Hunters: using public data from NASA's Kepler mission look for planets around other starts; The Milky Way Project: help draw bubbles in beautiful infrared data from the Spitzer Space Telescope; Old Weather: help recover worldwide observations from Royal Navy ships around WWI; MoonZoo: explore the Moon from NASA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter; Solar Stormwatch: help spot explosions on the Sun; Galaxy Zoo Mergers, Hubble, or Supernovae: help astronomers...
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
USGS Teacher Packets: Each packet contains a teacher guide, materials, and activities.
- Geoscience resources
Daily Earth science news updates, articles, maps, a dictionary of Earth Science terms, and information on geoscience careers
- Arctic Portal
The arctic Portal serves as a comprehensive Internet gateway to Arctic information. Featured areas such as "science," "people," "business," "projects," and more are grouped into categories for easy access.
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Arctic (NOAA) Theme Page
NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them.
- Scott Polar Research Institute (SPRI)
A part of the University of Cambridge, SPRI actively engages in Arctic physical and social science research.
- Arctic Council
The Arctic Council is an intergovernmental organization comprised of all eight nations having Arctic geographic presence, plus a number f representative groups supporting the causes of Arctic indigenous peoples.
- University of the Arctic
UArctic is not a single campus in a single location' it is a network of higher education institutions, research centers, and other organizations with Arctic interests.
- Arctic Centre
From the University of Lapland in Rovaniemi, Finland, the Arctic Centre is a hub for Arctic information.
- Arctic Institute of North America (AINA)
A part of the University of Calgary in Alberta, Canada, AINA promotes research in the physical and social Arctic Sciences.
Developed and maintained by Universite Laval in Wuebec, Canada, ArcticStat is a database of socialeconomic datasets and statistical tables from the circumpolar region.
- national Science Foundations (NSF) Office of Polar Programs
Promoting Arctic and Antarctic science, NSF's OPP provides funding opportunities for physical and social scientists interested in cold regions research.
- National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC)
A part of the University of Colorado, NSIDC's Web site contains highly scientific and analytical data on on cold climate topics and research across the world's polar regions.
- Arctic Health
Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the Alaska Medical Library at the University of Alaska-Anchorage, this website acts as a subject guide on health, illness, and healing in the Arctic.
- International Journal of Circumpolar Health (IJCH)
From Oulu, Finland, comes, IJCH, the leading academic journal in Arctic health research.
- International Network for Circumpolar Health Research (INCHR)
INCHR is a network of individuals, groups, and organizations that support health initiatives in the polar regions.
- International Union for Circumpolar Health (IUCH)
Composed of organizations having interests in health matters of the Arctic and Antarctic, the IUCh has provided a non-governmental forum for polar health research collaboration since 1981.
- Indigenous Peoples Secretariat (IPS)
Supporting the indigenous groups of the Arctic.
- Smithsonian National Museum of History Arctic Studies Center (ASC)
The ASC of the Smithsonian provides a selected anthropological history of circumpolar peoples by offering a number of interesting online exhibits under the "Exhibition" and "Features" sections.
- More Blue World underwater adventures
Jonathan Bird's Blue World lets you bring the undersea world to the classroom via the internet.
- Google Earth Oceans
Dive beneath the surface and visit the deepest part of the ocean, explore the ocean in 3D with top marine experts, learn about ocean observations, climate change, and endangered species, discover new places including surf, dive, and travel hot spots and shipwrecks.
- International Journal for Mathematics Teaching and Learning
This journal, which is published only in electronic form, aims to enhance mathematics teaching for all ages (and abilities) up to 18 years, through relevant articles, reviews and information from around the world. It is aimed at practitioners...
- Journal of Statistics Education (Online)
JSE disseminates knowledge for the improvement of statistics education at all levels, including elementary, secondary, post-secondary, post-graduate, continuing, and workplace education.
- Mathematics teacher
Mathematics Teacher (MT) offers activities, lesson ideas, teaching strategies, and problems through in-depth articles, departments, and features. Great resources for secondary teachers, preservice teachers, and teacher educators.
- Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
School (MTMS) offers activities, lesson ideas, teaching strategies, and problems through in-depth articles, departments, and features. Great resources for middle grades teachers, preservice teachers, and teacher educators.
- School Science and Mathematics
School Science and Mathematics (SSM) is the official journal of the School Science and Mathematics Association. SSM emphasizes issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom.
- Statistics Education Research Journal
The Statistics Education Research Journal is published jointly by the International Association for Statistical Education and the International Statistical Institute to encourage research activity in statistics education, advance knowledge about...
- Teaching Children Mathematics
Teaching Children Mathematics (TCM) offers activities, lesson ideas, teaching strategies, and problems through in-depth articles, departments, and features. Great resources for elementary teachers, preservice teachers, and teacher educators.
- National Council of teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
NCTM is the largest mathematics education organization in the world and is devoted to improving mathematics education for elementary through high school students.
- Math Forum - Teacher Education and Professional Development
Provides infromation on specific topics, such as calculus reform, as well as links to professional development, continuing education, job placement and conference information.
- Federal Register
Display individual news sections form Money, Environment, World, Science & Technology, Business & Industry, and Health & Public Welfare.
- US Regulations
Regulations.gov is your online source for U.S. government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies