This is the "Basic Reference" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Last Updated: Oct 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.calpoly.edu/english Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Basic Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ask Us

For ways to get personal help (chat, in person, email, and phone) just click on the link below!

Essential Online Reference Databases

  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The best English language dictionary of all time. You can also link from this site to the Oxford Historical Thesaurus to see alternate words and their historical use. (Also, if you love print, we have both of these in the Reference Collection in Kennedy 111.)
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Enter your author name or topic here to find basic "encyclopedia" information in multiple encyclopedias.
 

Oxford English Dictionary and Thesaurus - Print

The Oxford English dictionary PE1625 .O87 1989 (Ref)
Historical thesaurus of the Oxford English dictionary  PE1591 .H55 2009 (Ref)

These can be found in Kennedy room 111.

 

Large Print Literary Criticism Sets - Print

The Following LARGE sets can provide information about specific works and authors:

Contemporary Literary Criticism : PN771 .C59 (Ref)  (Kennedy room 111)

Poetry criticism : excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets: -

PN1010 .P499 (Ref) (Kennedy room 111)

Short story criticism 

PN3373 .S56 (Ref)(Kennedy room 111)

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism : PN761 .N56 (Ref)  (Kennedy room 111)

Dictionary Of Literary Biography : PS21 .D5  (Kennedy 4th Floor)

To use these huge sets, go to where they are on the shelves, identify the slim index volumes, or the most recent volume that says "cumulative index" on the spine, then look for your title or author to learn which volumes have information about the author or item. This is pretty old school, but for basic information it may save you time, and if you have the heart of a bookworm, you may love it.

In Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism you can also look for the topics volumes to identify where your topics are addressed. 

The first three sets are in Kennedy 111.  The fourth (Dictionary of Literary Biography) is on the fourth floor.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brett Bodemer
Contact Info
College of Liberal Arts Librarian

General Education Instruction Coordinator

Reference Coordinator

Robert E. Kennedy Library
206
756-2203
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip