Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013
This site has loads of information about every facet of sustainability at Cal Poly. Buildings, programs, courses, and more.
- Association for the Advancement for Sustain in Higher Education
AASHE is an association of colleges and universities working to create a sustainable future. It provides resources, professional development, and a network of support to enable institutions of higher education to model and advance sustainability.
- Climate Neutral Research Campuses>
Research campuses consume more energy per square foot than most facilities. They also have greater opportunities to reduce energy consumption, implement renewable energy systems, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and set an example of climate neutrality.
This Web site provides research campuses a five-step process to develop and implement climate action plans.
Depending on your subject focus, you may need to consult a variety of
article databases to cover the breadth of sustainability-focused
publications available to you. Listed below are some of the top
databases to try, but also consider consulting the research guides
for your program and searching the databases listed there, as they may
have sustainability resources more focused to your discipline.
Some of these databases require Cal Poly login for off-campus users, while
others don't. Log on to your portal before you begin to avoid multiple
This is a comprehensive index to journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and other documents in the field of agriculture (1970-present). Abstracts are provided for some of the indexed items.
- Building Green
This is a very valuable content-rich website that Kennedy Library subscribes to for our students and faculty.
- CAB Direct
This database of the world's agricultural and applied life sciences sources is the most comprehensive source of international agriculture literature. Includes a leisure, recreation and tourism component. Represents over 3.5 million articles, reports and proceedings, published from 1973 to the present.
- Engineering Village
Engineering Village 2 offers access to Compendex, the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering literature, containing references to over 13 million citations from 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and reports.
This comprehensive geoscience database contains over 2.1 million records in mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Covers over 1,725 social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Journals are international in scope.
Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, behavioral sciences, social sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record® is a comprehensive reference database covering all aspects of modern animal research. Includes more than 5,000 serials published in over 100 countries, books, reports, newsletters, conference papers and abstracts.