Citation Management SoftwareCiting SourcesFinding ArticlesFinding BooksFinding WebsitesResearch Hints Wikipedia
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

COSAM Research Central 

Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.calpoly.edu/cosam_researchcentral  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research 101             Print Page
  
 

Citation Linker

Use Citation Linker when you already know the article title, journal title, year, etc., and just need to find the full-text.

Hint: When you find a “good” article on your topic, pick articles from the reference list to look up via Citation Linker.

 

Science & Technical Writing

  • Science and technical writing : a manual of style - Philip Rubens
    Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION T11 .S378 2001
  • Writing for science - Robert Goldbort
    Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION T11 .G626 2006
 

Research Hints

Advanced search techniques

  • Translate your research question into a “research search string” a computer can understand.
  • Use quotation marks to search as a phrase, in the exact order you type them, example “working mothers”.
  • Use an asterisk to search for multiple versions of a word at once by truncating the terms. For example, typing obes* will allow you to search for obesity and obese.
  • Boolean searching: operators (AND, OR, NOT) are used to combine terms in the following ways with parentheses to group the terms:

AND    Both words must be present (obese and ethnic)
OR      Either or both words must be present (obese or overweight)
NOT    The first but not the second word must be present (ethnic not culture)


Note: the dark "piece" is the result of the query.


Evaluation criteria

Use the questions listed below to measure the quality of any piece of information you find regardless of what it’s about, where you find it, or its format (article, book, video, newspaper, photo, website, etc.)

  • Who is the author and what are their credentials?
  • Who is the audience?
  • What is the relationship between this material and your topic?
  • Where is the information located (in the library, online, at another campus, etc.)?
  • Where is the material published (book, academic journal, magazines, websites)?
  • What is the purpose of the material (to inform, persuade, sell, advocate, etc.)?
  • For websites: What is the domain? [.edu (educational site, information from an educational institution), .com (commercial site, information on materials for purchase), .org domain (organization/non-profit, promote advocacy), .gov (government site, information from the government’s point of view)]
  • When was the material created or produced? Note: an “updated date” on a web page does not necessarily meant the information was updated…it could just mean a typo was fixed.
  • How is the material relevant to your research?
      
     
     

    Picking a Topic

    Struggling with ideas for an upcoming term paper, speech, presentation, etc.?

    With Old Dominion Universities’ Idea Generator explore these areas:
    Education
    Psychology
    Social Sciences (criminal justice, women's studies, etc.)
    Arts & Humanities (history, literature, religion, etc.)
    Health Sciences
    Physical & Biological Sciences
    Sports, Recreation & Leisure
    Engineering & Technology
    Business & Public Administration

     

    Campus Academic Resources

    College of Science and Mathematics Advising Center provides academic advising services to all students in the college.

    Writing Skills Program, provides a free, one-on-one tutoring center to assist Cal Poly students with any writing task.

    Study Skills Library provides on-line study skills improvement information 24/7.

    Academic Skills Center  provides on-line study skills improvement information.
      
    Study Skills Seminar Schedule lists the seminars offered throughout the quarter, specifically providing instruction in areas such as time management, textbook reading, memory skills, listening, note taking, test preparation, test taking, and other study skills related practices to improve academic performance.

    Study Session Program provides support for designated technical/science and general education courses.  A group of 6-10 students and a trained session leader meet regularly on a weekly basis.  Students submit a request via the MyCal Poly portal.

    Tutor Referral Service a listing of free on campus tutoring resources available fall, winter and spring quarters. Campus departments, student clubs and organizations offer services.

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait