Welcome!
Welcome to my Definitions & Acronyms research guide. Browse the tabs along the top to learn plenty of tips and tricks for completing your research.
General Technical Dictionaries
Of course WikiPedia is the easiest and fastest way to find brief information on technical topics.
Wikipedia. (web sources)
HOWEVER, these printed sources (below) often times have very useful charts, graphs and photographs that Wikipedia does not have.
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology.
Call Number: Reference. Q121 .M3 2002
Authoritative articles with lists of additional readings. - Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia.
Call Number: Reference. Q121 .V3 1995
Long articles on various science and engineering topics. - McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms.
Call Number: Reference. Q123 .M34 1994
One of the most complete and authoritative dictionaries of science and engineering.
Acronyms & Abbreviations
- Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary.
Call Number: Reference. P365 .A28
Tells you what acronyms like NASA, ISO, DOD, and ANSI stand for.
Visual What's What.
- The Macmillan visual dictionary
Call Number: MAIN collection. AG250 .M22 1992
Identification of parts of objects. - Oxford picture dictionary of American English
Call Number: MAIN collection. PE2835.5 .P3
Naming of parts of common objects. - What's what, a visual glossary of the physical world
Call Number: Reference. AG250 .B7
Look up a drawing of a thing and this dictionary tells you what each part is called.
Your Librarian |
Wayne MontgomeryContact Info:
Engineering Librarian
Robert E. Kennedy Library
Office: Library, Room 111F
Phone: 756-2057
Send Email
Subjects:
College of Engineering
Engineering Librarian
Robert E. Kennedy Library
Office: Library, Room 111F
Phone: 756-2057
Send Email
Subjects:
College of Engineering
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait