Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014
You can search the following databases to find articles on your topic.
Some articles provide full text, and others do not. If you do not see
a PDF or HTML file with the full text, click on the "Find It" button
and our system will link to it if we subscribe. If not, you will be
forwarded you to Interlibrary Services, where you can request the
article for free electronic delivery.
All things psychology.
General psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Books, chapters, magazines, newspapers, gray literature (dissertations, technical and annual reports, consumer brochures, etc.) back to 1872.
All things education.
- Academic Search Premier
The WalMart of Databases - something for everyone.
- Academic OneFile
Like Academic Search Elite - a range of news, magazines, and scholarly journals.
- Communication & Mass Media
Covers Journalism, Media, and Communications.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. Provides cited reference searching.
- Web of Science
Sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Sociological Abstracts
Lists articles in fields related to sociology, including social psychology.
- Social Science & Research Instructional Council (SSRIC)
Sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts. For special expertise with this database, contact Dr. Greg Bohr at x62752.
- Sage Journals Online
Lots of journals in various disciplines.
- Wiley InterScience Journals
Business, engineering, medicine, psychology, the sciences, and statistics.
Includes some journals in the Social Sciences.
- Find Out what e-journals Kennedy Library Has
Search Serials Solutions to find out what e-journals and Kennedy library subscribes to. You can also browse by subject to identify journals that might be of interest.
- EBSCO - Choose ALL their databases
This link will take you to EBSCO's Academic Search Elite. Above the search boxes in the upper left corner, where it says "choose databases" click and then select all databases. Again, best results come when you select full text and peer-reviewed. However, if you want MORE results you should not limit to these.
- Google Scholar via Kennedy Library
By going via the Kennedy Library Link you can link out to full text in a variety places. If you don't see "Find It at Cal Poly" on the results, click the "More" dropdown and it should be there.
- Psychology and Child Development
This link will let you search several relevant databases at once. It is useful for getting a wide range of results, but when you wish to be more specific you should search the databases one at a time because you have more control over your search.
- Proquest - Choose ALL their Databases
This link will take you to Proquest's ABI/Inform database. In the upper left hand corner, where it says "searching 1 database" click and then select ALL the databases. The best results come when you then select peer-reviewed and full text. It includes the database Sociological Abstracts.
- Articles and Books
Preselected for scholarly content and full-text, this searches for books and articles at once. After a keyword search, you can widen or narrow the limits as you see fit (eg, date-range, format, topic).