Last Updated: Jan 10, 2013
Go to this link on the Kennedy Homepage to search for specific journals.
What are Primary Sources?
Click on this link from Yale University Library for more info.
- Proquest - Choose ALL their Databases
This link will take you to Proquest's ABI/Inform database. In the upper left hand corner, where it says "searching 1 database" click and then select ALL the databases. The best results come when you then select peer-reviewed and full text.
- EBSCO - Choose ALL their databases
This link will take you to EBSCO's Academic Search Premier. Above the search boxes in the upper left corner, where it says "choose databases" click and then select all databases. Again, best results come when you select full text and peer-reviewed. However, if you want MORE results you should not limit to these.
- Articles and Books (BETA)
Preselected for scholarly content and full-text, this searches for books and articles at once. After a keyword search, you can widen or narrow the limits as you see fit (eg, date-range, format, topic).
- Communication & Mass Media
Merges two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Offers citation coverage for citation coverage for research journals, major journalism reviews, trade publications and more. Full text is available for over 200 titles.
- Academic Search Premier
Many full-text articles, some from core scholarly journals, but others from popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Academic OneFile
Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across a breadth of disciplines.
Many full-text articles. Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including ethnic and multicultural studies.
A premiere business database which provides full-text articles from a number of news, trade and professional publications.
Opposing Viewpoints provides information on key current social issues and “hot topics” from
a number of perspectives. Includes: topic overviews; “viewpoint”
articles; primary source documents; profiles of individuals, agencies
and interest groups; statistical tables, charts and graphs; and other
useful material for debates and argumentation writing assignments.
CQ Researcher provides articles
on current topics in public affairs. Each issue provides a brief
“pro-con” discussion on a question related to the larger topic, a
feature that is especially useful for speeches, debates and essays for
argumentation classes. This is also an excellent source for getting
ideas for a topic or for finding ways to focus or refine a broad topic.
College of Liberal Arts Librarian
General Education Instruction Coordinator
Robert E. Kennedy Library