Last Updated: Aug 24, 2014
Use a database to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.
- Web of Science
The Web of Science provides a portal to online citation indexing and search services including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation and Social Sciences Citation Indexes. It also provides access to the following indexes: BIOSIS Previews, CABI Abstracts, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, Inspec, MEDLINE, Zoological record, and Journal Citation Reports. It allows for multiple databases to be searched simultaneously and provides access to more than thousands of academic and scientific journals.
- PubMed - National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Topical resources include: chemicals and bioassays, DNA & RNA, data and software, domains and structures, genes and expression, genetics and medicine, genomes and maps, homology, proteins, sequence analysis, taxonomy and more. After you find a good paper on your topic click on Related Articles and Reviews to find other relevant articles.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Use “Cited by” and “Related articles” to find additional articles easily. Note: If you find a relevant article in a subject specific database, search for the article in Google Scholar to use the “Cited by” and “Related articles” tools.
Robert E. Kennedy Library, 216E
Cal Poly State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Winter Office Hours: M 2-4pm, T 11am-12pm, W 11am-12pmSend Email
, Liberal Studies
, & Engineering